Each year, outstanding advocates in the Law School compete in the Supreme Court Competition for the honor of presenting final arguments to the Iowa Supreme Court. The student who submits the best brief wins the M. Gene Blackburn Award, named for a professor (and 1955 Drake Law graduate) in recognition of his dedication to the development of appellate advocacy. The recipient is chosen on the basis of superior writing skills that communicate an issue position based upon an innovative, creative, and concise approach. The award includes a cash prize, funded by the Cedar Rapids, Iowa law firm of Simmons Perrine Moyer & Bergmann.

Recent Submissions